Strap it up and roll that beat!

Standard

Guitar_Strap_with_a_Story__by_StrapOnHalo

Even though I am show casing my handy work at the guitar strap design, I am sharing how and why it all came about, succinctly.  I know it’s a crappy picture. It was a long time ago and I can’t really just snap another right now. I’ll try to coax a moment with it and re-shoot the image(s).

I met a man through my best friend about 7 years ago now. My first experience with him, was spent enamored by his talent. Halloween party, we’re all drunk and having a good time. Beck scoops up a guitar and strums a tune that he free styles custom lyrics to the situation at hand. He didn’t suck. It was a good time. People like Beck have a drawing quality. Men and women alike are drawn to him, now not in every case as he has his turmoils and struggles, we can’t please everyone, but Beck is a special person.

My relationship and love for Beck honestly started through my best friend. Her love and respect and loyal concern for him catches on, consequently, I have full reason to believe this is the same means in which he learned he loves us too. Beck had a birthday and it was his 30th, special damned birthday. My family was invited to his bonfire fun fest birthday bash which for me struck panic and anxiety, I don’t have a gift, I try to never go empty handed, my husband and I were raised it’s rude to show to an invited event empty handed. So I set out connecting to my spirit, it’s the most creative side of me.

Beck doesn’t have it all, but he kind of does. He can get what ever he wants, he’s a worker. He’s not afraid of the burn of muscles tearing and growing, he’s not afraid of the challenge of a fight, of hard work, he really does have it all. So what the hell could I gift him that he couldn’t do on his own? Him, his being, seen through those that love him, stitched out and quilted together into a guitar strap. Each patch represents something about him that stands out. Parts of the fabric from his past, pieces cut from friends clothing that they wore while… blah blah blah, whatever story, I stitched it all out and erected Becks hieroglyphic strap.  It’s been a long ass time since then, and I still  love Beck, my husband is equally in love with him. It’s hard to find people with a spirit that doesn’t rub yours wrong. In terms of his strap, I don’t think I could top the gift to him, he values it immensely. If his ever gives up the ghost, he knows where to have another one designed. ❤

Leave a Reply

