Dragonflies in Flight

Standard

Have you ever had so much junk inside of you that there is just no way to express it? I’ve got some baggage, I’m not going to pretend I don’t. It’s a manageable crazy; usually. There was a season in my life that I just wasn’t getting it right. Marriage was rocky, my oldest son getting into some heavy heavy stuff, my youngest son hitting puberty and stretching his bully muscle.  I forced myself to step out of my box and branch out to do something I am passionate about, Recycling. I took a Master Recyclers course and found out there is not much friendship there, a lot of team work when it’s necessary, but I didn’t really experience friendships struck. I found this a challenge to go week after week. Money was tight, extremely. I pawned my rifle so I could honor my snack day for everybody in class one week. Seems dumb but it happened… I was having repressed shit come up from the loss of my brother, mom and dad. CRAP, ya know? I HAD to do something that challenged me, gave me silent time, in the outside, creating, doing what I love, turning turmoil into something I can live with, art. 

We had a smallerish pool a few years back and it sort of was a dumper pool, nice for a minute for a craigslist special. But it was up long enough to leave a nice dead spot in the yard, lol *smh* So we put a fire pit thingie out there and pondered on what to do and decided to pour a concrete pad with a raised platform that would hold a fire bowl.  So we set out prepping and digging and forming and mixing and pouring and trowled concrete to a nice finish. Once the big ass 8 foot circle of stone was in place you’d think I was happy as a clam. Nope, I was pretty pissed at myself for making this giant bland spot. UHG. So I started a mosaic project in July and set out to have it done on or before Oct 1st 2012. I met my goal with a day to rest! So here is the project as it went along. Enjoy the ride and appreciate the healing that came from this project.

I failed to explain before, the base of the fire feature riser when it’s complete and done ( I still have some artists touches) will be an accurate compass. I was lost. I had no idea where to go or how to find my way, so I started with the largest compass I could find and then I worked in musicated silence and cut glass, glued, placed, created, in my head, my soul being imparted into something I knew was going to make me happy and all who seen it. After a while my husband filtered out and cut glass bits for me, saved my wrists from the hurt and my daughter got over her fear of ruining my project that she even imparted her spirit and glued colored glass bits too. It’s our fire feature, stay tuned for the actual fire feature part, I can’t discuss it, it’s that damned good. ❤

DRAGONFLY

Illusion, the Power of Light

Dragonfly is the power of light.
The dragonfly inhabits two realms: air and water
and the influence of both these elements will be felt by Dragonfly people.
They will be emotional and passionate
during their early years (the influence of water)
and more balanced with greater mental clarity
and control in as they mature (the influence of air).

Dragonfly is the essence of the winds of change,
the messages of wisdom and enlightenment; and the communication from the elemental world.
Dragonfly medicine beckons you to seek out the parts of your habits which need changing.
Call on Dragonfly to guide you through the mists of illusion to the pathway of transformation.
The number 2 is important to Dragonfly,
so think in terms of two year periods when you begin a change.
Dragonfly brings the light and color of transformation into your life.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

