Fugly to Fabulous table refinish tutorial

Standard
Fugly to Fabulous table refinish tutorial

Table Refinish Tutorial

I refinished a table I got for free on Freecycle, which was ugly and needed to be covered to hide it. So I changed it.

You need.

Sand paper, 180, 220, 400, 600 grits. Vibrating sander or an orbit sander, which was quick work of sanding and a sanding block for the finer grits.
Color of your choice flat house paint, I used primer for mine.
Stencil of your choice. Painters tape.
Sponge brush.
Stain, applicator, gloves and wiping rags.
Sealer, either spray or brush on, if brushing use a good brush.
Spray paint for chairs and legs of table.

Sand the top to the wood, make sure it’s clean and naked as the day it was made. Just the top needs to be to the wood unless you’re staining it all, I chose to paint the legs. Sand smooth. What you’re painting, such as the legs, you just need to sand dull. It does not need to be naked. This is when you will use your 220 grit paper.

Clean all the sand paper crud off and begin to apply the stencil. I taped my stencil down with painters tape. I also used a brown paper bag to dab my dipped sponge out until it’s a bit dry. Dab the paint into the stencil, make sure it’s not to wet or it will bleed. Let it dry and and move on to the next stenciling area. I used my hair dryer to flash dry, I am impatient. Complete the stenciling and then step back and relax while it all dries.

Now come back the table and used the 220 sand paper to sand the paint edges down smooth. I also took this chance to sand paint thinner in various areas for an antiqued look. Clean the table off again, make sure it’s super clean, do not use a damp rag, just dust it, vacuum it if you have a fancier attachment for that.

Fun starts! Stain the table top according to the directions. Some say to leave on 5 to 15 minutes then wipe off, follow the directions. Wipe the stain off after the time indicated and allow it to dry completely, also follow the directions on that. Once it’s dried, if you’re unhappy with the tone, you can add another layer of stain to deepen the color a bit, apply, timed sit and wipe, allow to dry again,

Before I sealed I did a fine grit sand to knock off any imperfections I didn’t want coming through the sealer surface. So do that if necessary.

The sealer can be sprayed or brushed, I brushed mine on and had problems with bubbles, so I ended up having to put a fine fine grit sand on the first coat of sealer so my second coat would be the finish. So this is that point, apply the sealer, allow to dry for the time indicated (every product is different) then reapply until you’re happy with the finish. Note: You will have to do a light 600 grit sand on the finish between applications, its important to do this.

Allow to dry and voila, artsy farsty place to congregate as a family for dinner and stuff!

Table before refinish

Stenciling

Stenciling

Stencil is finished

Stencil is finished

Staining time!

Staining time!

Finished, ermehgerd!

Finished, ermehgerd!

Table before refinish
